Be With Me Review

27 Mar

17558817

Teresa Hamilton is having a rough year—she’s in love with her big brother’s best friend, but he hasn’t spoken to her since they shared a truly amazing, mind-blowing, change-your-life kiss. She got out of a terrible relationship. And now an injury is threatening to end her dance career for good. It’s time for Plan B – college. And maybe a chance to convince Jase that what they have together is real.

Jase Winstead has a huge secret that he’s not telling anyone. Especially not his best friend’s incredibly beautiful sister. Even though he and Teresa shared the hottest kiss of his life, he knows that his responsibilities must take priority. He certainly doesn’t have time for a relationship. But it doesn’t help that all he can think about kissing the one girl who could ruin everything for him.

As they’re thrown together more and more, Jase and Tess can’t keep denying their feelings for each other. But a familiar danger looms and tragedy strikes. As the campus recovers, the star-crossed couple must decide what they’re willing to risk to be together, and what they’re willing to lose if they’re not…

I read the book because I wanted some more Cam and Avery.

Come on! Don’t tell me I’m the only one! Those two are just so… AMAZING! At least I’m able to admit it… even though I do feel slightly guilty for it. Just slightly. 😀 It’s okay, though, because J. Lynn knows exactly why we read these books. She included a few very cute Cam and Avery moments in here that just melted my heart and one of them just about gave me a heart attack – in a good way. You will never ever ever guess what it was!

But that’s not why we’ve all gathered here today. Nope, we are here to discuss Be With Me, which is Jase and Tess. If I recall correctly, I think Jennifer L. Armentrout actually said that Jase superseded Cam’s spot as her favorite book boyfriend she has ever written about. I was so excited! I couldn’t fathom that there was someone out there that could be HOTTER than Cam. I mean – what?! Impossible right? RIGHT?

Right.

I’m sorry, J. Lynn, I’m calling this one. Jase was hot and absolutely mouth watering and all that stuff, but he doesn’t have a turtle, and he doesn’t bake cookies. Plus, Cam is a bigger alpha male than Jase is, which totally wins brownie points from me.

That is not to say that I didn’t enjoy this book! Nope! I absolutely devoured it!

There is just so much that happens in this book, it’s really hard to tell you why I loved it plot-wise. We really see a growth in Tess’ character, as well as Jase’s. There are a lot of issues they both have to deal with and grow through, and these issues are keeping them both apart. How can you be with someone when, on some days, you can’t even stand being with yourself? This was definitely a deeper book than Wait for You was, but for the purpose of how this book was written, it worked very well! This made both of the books distinct, which I like! Because, guys, there’s nothing worse than reading a book that has a sequel, expecting the sequel to be amazing, and then realizing that it’s basically the same story rewritten. It’s true. I know a few books like that. I’m sure you do, too.

The personality of this book and both of the characters is also very different. This is what makes it very hard to compare this book to Wait for You – because you can’t! It’s like comparing Christmas with your birthday. You get presents on both, but you can’t call one better than the other. They are just too different! But you CAN pick favorites. Just saying.

But I will say this – Jennifer, if you could PLEASE open up a school to teach boys to be as mouth-watering as your characters, I will highly support, stand-by and FUND the project! Because not only do I have Cam in my boy-dreams, now I also have Jase?! This does not bode well for me! I will have a heart attack in my sleep!

Jase is for all you girls who are into country-men. He lives on a farm, which means he rides horses and lifts heavy objects and rides in trucks and all that manly-man stuff that makes him built and tanned. Mmm. Yummy tan. And he’s also very alpha. I said Cam was more alpha, but that doesn’t stop Jase from being completely overbearing and in charge and just… so hot! And when him and Cam face off against each other… I think I swooned a few times. Way too much testosterone in the air! I would have fainted if I were there for real.

He’s the type to see a girl in trouble, swoop her up over his shoulder and take her to his man cave to protect her. He will stand outside your window with a stereo over his head playing your favorite song until you come out. He will go out of his way to get you your favorite cupcakes every day, just to see a smile on your face. He’s basically the kind of guy that makes the real guys in life seem very disappointing, because no matter what they do, they cannot possibly be perfect like Jase is. Buuut – he’s got a secret! And boy, that WAS a secret! I mean, I was so not expecting Jase to… and then he was, so I was like WHAT?! But it’s okay cuz he’s just very *sigh*! Yes, that is me censoring myself. It’s hard! You read the book and try to work around it!

Tess is just infuriatingly awesome! She’s completely bull-headed and clever and just as manipulative as Cam can be. She’s dealing with her own issues, and sometimes makes some stupid choices that provide a lot of entertainment for those of us who enjoy the embarrassment of others. But she’s also very likeable and fun and someone who you would love to hang out with. She is constantly thinking of others, and even though she’s not the strong heroin you want her to be in the beginning, she does get there eventually.

The ending caught me completely off guard! I think that Jennifer Armentrout lulls you into this false sense of security in the book, where you’re seeing a sort of pattern form so you know what to expect next. And then BAM! A whole lot of stuff happens at once, starting with the stuff that goes down with her roommate and then going onwards to the end. The last half of the book was just chaos and beating hearts and me possibly being scared off of living on residence at a college/university EVER. The book took a completely surprising turn and played off it so well! It completely set the first book apart!

This is what redeemed this book for me.

Because, now that I have told you about how much I loved this book, there is a small confession here. I actually did not like it as much as I liked the first book. It was amazing! Totally worth reading and awesome in its own right! But I think I was reading this with the expectation of it being completely like Wait for You, but it wasn’t! It was a different feel and situation and had its own crazy bouts of awesomeness! You cannot possibly compare these two books because they re so distinct, so the only thing to do is to treat them as completely different books that have nothing to do with each other. And Cam – the reason I fell in love with Wait for You – is not Jase!

I think that now that I realized this, if I reread it I would enjoy this book a lot more. Because, honestly, it is one of the better books I have ever read. If I hadn’t read Wait for You first, I would probably think that this book is my favorite EVER! But I did read Wait for You first, and so I’m sorry but… Cam wins.

4.8 Stars! So close to being as awesome as Cam, but not quite there.

Now if you excuse me… I’m gonna reread it. 😀 Cuz even though it’s not as awesome as Cam is… it’s still pretty darn awesome!

Tell me what you thought!

