Divergent Review

24 Mar

13335037

In Beatrice Prior’s dystopian Chicago world, society is divided into five factions, each dedicated to the cultivation of a particular virtue–Candor (the honest), Abnegation (the selfless), Dauntless (the brave), Amity (the peaceful), and Erudite (the intelligent). On an appointed day of every year, all sixteen-year-olds must select the faction to which they will devote the rest of their lives. For Beatrice, the decision is between staying with her family and being who she really is–she can’t have both. So she makes a choice that surprises everyone, including herself.

During the highly competitive initiation that follows, Beatrice renames herself Tris and struggles alongside her fellow initiates to live out the choice they have made. Together they must undergo extreme physical tests of endurance and intense psychological simulations, some with devastating consequences. As initiation transforms them all, Tris must determine who her friends really are–and where, exactly, a romance with a sometimes fascinating, sometimes exasperating boy fits into the life she’s chosen. But Tris also has a secret, one she’s kept hidden from everyone because she’s been warned it can mean death. And as she discovers unrest and growing conflict that threaten to unravel her seemingly perfect society, Tris also learns that her secret might help her save the ones she loves . . . or it might destroy her.

Holy bad boy! Veronica Roth, may I just ask, what do you think you are doing?! You can’t just waltz into my life, give me the most AMAZING storyline EVER, and expect me to REVIEW it! Well, actually, you don’t expect me to review it. I’m just going to do it cuz it’s what I do. But I don’t think I can formulate anything into words right now.

I know, I know. It was published in, like, 2011. I am most definitely that person that has a mountain of books from 6 years ago that I haven’t gotten to. It’s a crime. But for now, I figured that since the movie was about to come out, I’d better get on it. Maybe read the book, watch the movie, to a compare-and-contrast blog-type thing.

But I was NOT expecting this book to be so… so… captivating! And real! I know people have heard this, but I’m talking… BEYOND Hunger Games! Now don’t shoot me, I am very very picky with my books. I probably only have three favorite books/series out of the thousands that I have read, Hunger Games being one of them. But guys. Seriously, just for a moment, imagine a book that is better than Hunger Games. I know. You can’t. Which is why if you haven’t read this book yet, you have not lived.

For the most part, the very beginning of this book is slightly confusing. We meet Beatrice, a girl from the Abnegation faction, who struggles living with her faction’s primary value – selflessness. And when I say selflessness, I don’t just mean giving food to the hungry, or volunteering to help do a chore no one usually wants to do in order to be helpful and selfless. Oh, no. By selfless, I mean living a life where you try to forget your own existence, and focus your whole life into being completely and utterly selfless in every way. You don’t look at yourself in the mirror, or wear your hair/clothes a different way from anyone else in your faction. If you’re starving but someone asks you for food, your first instinct should be to give the last piece of bread to them. If you’re caught running, it is punishable because you’re doing it for fun, which is focusing on yourself, which isn’t selfless. Yes! Seriously! This is intense, folks! These people don’t kid around!

Anyway, the beginning is all about getting the reader acquainted with all the personalities of the five factions. It’s a little hard to follow, because the factions have such unique names. Honestly, I didn’t know what the words meant until I read this book. I mean – Candor? Erudite? The only one I really knew was Dauntless! Maybe I should open a dictionary up more often. I don’t know if it’s just me. But once you get the hang of what these factions are all about, the rest of the story is intense!

I wouldn’t be able to survive in this world, guys. I think it’s just way too intense for me. I wouldn’t be able to completely change the way my brain has been hardwired in, like, 2 weeks!

Once you have reached age 16, you get to do an aptitude test to measure which faction you would belong to. The problem is, choosing a faction different from your own COMPLETELY alienates you from your own faction. You never get to see your family again, or practice your old values and routines. Our brave heroin, Beatrice… happens to choose Dauntless.

Hold up, folks! A selfless girl choosing dauntless over her own faction? What? Unheard of! Completely scandalous!

And on top of that, she now has to go through the Dauntless Initiation. If she doesn’t get into the top 10 with her scoring, she will become factionless. Which is equivalent to becoming homeless. Problem is, she is fighting for her scores against kids that have been in Dauntless their whole life!

AND she has a secret! Because something went wrong when she took her aptitude test.

DUN DUN DUUUN!

Anyway, it’s just so intense! Reading the whole initiation process is just bewildering and exhilarating! I loved the ideas and the issues that go on within this book. And not only that, I love the struggles that Beatrice faces throughout the book. They make her so real and human, that you can’t help but be drawn into the story and begin believing in this impossible world.

And guys. Guys! Four is the hottest fighter-guy EVER! Basically, there’s always a love interest. We all expect it. But who can expect him to be so… kick-*ss!?

“Four flips the gun in this hand, presses the barrel to Peter’s forehead, and clicks a bullet into place. Peter freezes with his lips parted, the yawn dead in his mouth. “Wake. Up,” Four snaps. “You are holding a loaded gun, you idiot. Act like it.”

Come on! I was trying so hard not to SQUEAL every single time they mentioned him. He’s absolutely bad-boy meets calculating dare-devil extraordinaire! One look and you will absolutely do whatever he says. And just to give you guys a little more incentive to read this book, guess who plays Four in the movie?

Guess! Guess! Guess!

tris-four-divergent-movie

THEO JAMES.

AHH!!

Oh. My. God.

If you guys haven’t seen the trailer – I can’t. I just can’t! He’s just SO HOT! I’m seriously thinking that he is WAY too hot to be allowed on screen for anyone under 18. No. Just… *sigh* Look at the muscle bulging out of his arm. Just look at it!

Besides that, the writing is amazing! It’s so clear, smart, and detailed, and very well researched. The plot flows smoothly and explains everything very well. It’s a very fast read once you get into it, which is surprising because the story has so much information and detail and stuff crammed into it. It’s a whole new world, where everything as we know it doesn’t exist. And even though this book is, like, 487 pages long, you get through it in a day! Literally! I just sat down, expecting to read it for a few hours at most. Thought that maybe it would take me a week to finish the whole thing – no big deal.

No.

ONE. DAY.

It was so good that I couldn’t even put it down! It was like air! I couldn’t survive without it!

And the situations that go on in there, man! Every page there’s something there that completely gets you off guard and you just don’t know what to do so you’re forced to sit there and FREAK OUT! But you keep reading, anyway, because you’re such a masochist, and the next thing you know you’re crying in a corner and asking what you ever did to deserve going through such emotional turmoil.

My favorite quote from the book was near the end:

“Human beings as a whole cannot be good for long before the bad creeps back in and poisons us again.”

I feel like this is true. This book is depicting a world that is supposedly Utopian. Everything should be perfect now that society is organized the best way it can be, right? But it’s not true. Even in this book, you realize that politics and human malice are two things that will never go away, will never be clean. Which means that there will always be bad out there.

And the ending! Oh, God. GUYS! BRING TISSUES! AND HITTING STICKS! AND STRESS BALLS! Whatever it takes!! Because I GUARANTEE that anyone with a soul will just… explode from its sheer epicness.

See! I can’t even formulate coherent thought it was so good! This whole review is just me rambling and it’s – oooh!! I just gotta watch the movie now. I have to. And read the next book.

Yes.

I can’t tell you how many stars it got – it broke the star scale. I need to buy a new one now because mine is just… EXPLODED!

But seriously, though, it’s beyond 5 stars. It’s just… infinity. Go. Read it. Read it now! Don’t watch the movie first – READ IT!

 

 

 

Tell me what you thought!

