Seconds Before Sunrise ARC Review!

7 Mar

Seconds Before Sunrise

Two nightmares. One memory.

“Chaos within destiny. It was the definition of our love.”

Eric has weeks before his final battle when he’s in an accident. Forced to face his human side, he knows he can’t survive if he fights alone. But he doesn’t want to surrender, even if he becomes the sacrifice for war.

Jessica’s memory isn’t the only thing she’s lost. Her desire to find her parents is gone and so is her confidence. But when fate leaves nightmares behind, she decides to find the boy she sees in them, even if it risks her sanity.

** Review Copy kindly provided for honest review by author**

  Minutes Before Sunset Review! –>

Shannon A. Thompson has done it again!

I have to admit, the reason it took me a little longer that I thought it would to release this review is because I had to reread the first book (Minutes Before Sunset) before I started reading this book.  I wanted the story fresh in my mind. But no worries, kiddies! Here it is!

Shannon A. Thompson was very kind to ask me to review the second installment of The Timely Death Trilogy, and I was more than happy to pounce on the opportunity.

This book was a lot better than the first one, in my opinion (and the first book was amazing to begin with, so this says a lot!). You can definitely see the progression the author has taken with her writing, and with the maturity came a better story that anyone would even hope for!

What I love about this series is that it is so outside-the-box. The concepts are fresh and inspiring, connecting with the reader smoothly and allowing for a new perspective of magic, life, and archetypes. I was taken away by this new world Shannon A. Thomson created, and even when I put the book down, this world haunted my thoughts. It was addicting and ironic, haunting and mystical, hilarious and sophisticated. I cannot praise this author more for providing an unfamiliar perspective to YA fiction, and exploring new ideas that are clearly distinct and unique to her personality. The story each author writes, I feel, is a reflection of the type of person they are in their head, and clearly Thompson is a rare gift to the YA fiction writing community.

Thomson found a wonderful balance between Eric and Jessica’s points of view in the story, and integrated the two worlds beautifully in the end. Every time their worlds collided, my heart skipped and I couldn’t read through it fast enough. These two characters were very addictive on their own, and when they were together they were wildfire, hot and uncontrollable. Their worlds didn’t just collide, they clashed into each other. But there were also the soft spots that curled your toes and ended too soon. In human speech: the sexual tension was intense! Just the way I like it, of course. There’s a never-ending need for writers now to just get their characters together. There’s no need, of course, because everything that’s good is worth waiting for, a secret that Thompson is clearly familiar with.

I also liked that the romance wasn’t the controlling factor of the story. The story was the meal, and the romance was one of the few spices sprinkled on top to give it a kick, which is the way it should be. I have great respect for an author who is able to let their characters be individuals, and not let their romantic-interests dictate how they act, what they do, who they are, etc. When two individual characters with distinct personalities apart from their love-interest are pulled together, the sparks fly so much more intensely, which is quite a beautiful sight, if you can imagine.

As for the story – intense! Like, holy smokes, I honestly couldn’t guess  what would happen at any point in the story. It was all a complete mystery, which is what kept me reading. It was nice to read a book where I couldn’t guess the outcome at any point. Even the ending – I did not see that coming! And now, I honestly cannot wait to get my hands on the third installment! I want to see how the story progresses, what happens with the Dark and the Light, how the situation between Eric and Jessica plays out in the third book. I have so many questions!

Oh, and you will definitely never guess what’s in that black box that Eric’s father gives him. I honestly did not see that coming at all. But I’m so happy it happened! Epp!

Overall, I was thoroughly impressed with this story. The first book earned my dedication to the series, this book earned my admiration for the story. Congratulations, Shannon A. Thompson! This book is entirely too unique to not be a hit with the readers!

4.5 stars!

Release Date: March 27, 2014!

Buy it here: http://www.amazon.com/Seconds-Before-Sunrise-Shannon-Thompson/dp/1940820030/

4 Responses to “Seconds Before Sunrise ARC Review!”

  1. Shannon A Thompson March 7, 2014 at 5:30 pm #

    Thank you for reading and reviewing Seconds Before Sunrise! I am glad you enjoyed the novel. Sharing this now!
    ~SAT

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Author Extension Community » Books, Book Events, Gadgets, Reviews, & Updates - March 7, 2014

    […] Her latest review was the ARC of Seconds Before Sunrise by Shannon A. Thompson, which you can read here before you check out her review policy. […]

  2. The Controversy of Rating and Reviewing Novels | Shannon A Thompson - March 8, 2014

    […] that, I wanted to thank The Novel List for reading and reviewing Seconds Before Sunrise. “I was taken away by this new world Shannon […]

  3. March Ketchup | Shannon A Thompson - March 30, 2014

    […] Review, Coffee Shop Reader, Ennlee’s Reading Corner, Pau’s Castles, Chris Pavesic, The Novel List, Press Pause, Fast Forward, Breathe Wild Flower, Mental Cheesecake, Life with no Plot, Endless […]

Tell me what you thought!

