Every Second With You (No Regrets #2) ARC Review!

6 Feb

18689657

Every Second With You = Sex. Love. Addiction. Heartache. Pain. And Hope.

In the sequel to the bestselling THE THRILL OF IT, Harley and Trey face new challenges that will make battling blackmail, sex addiction, and a virgin call girl past look easy…

I used to think love was a lie. Now I know it’s real, powerful, and I don’t want to lose it…But my future scares me, and there’s no way this can be happening, especially since I’ve finally broken free from all the people who wanted pieces of me. I don’t even know how to start over, but I have to find a way. So when I discover what my mother’s been keeping from me, it doesn’t make me hate her. It gives me hope for a new life, outside of New York. But the ties that bind me to this city are so strong, sometimes they are chains. If only I could leave with…

Trey…

I will do anything for her. She owns me, heart, mind and body. But when Harley tells me this, I am rocked to the core, and terrified of what happens next. Especially when this time it’s not her past that chases me, it’s someone from my own. And that someone is messing with my head when I’m trying to be strong for Harley. But all I really want is to escape with the girl I love…For the rest of our lives.

How can you move forward when the past keeps chasing you?

I was fortunate enough to receive an ARC for an honest review, so here it is, folks:

A heartbreaking tale of overcoming our fears and finding strength in love:

Oh. My. God. The feels! I’ve got the feels!

Let’s forget about the story for a second. Can I just say that I definitely think that this book is WAY better than the first one. Especially since I read them back-to-back, I could clearly see the growth in Lauren Blakely’s writing. So props to her, she did an amazing job with this book. You can tell that she put in her heart and soul, and I think that that is what’s going to keep her reputation for writing addictive NA fiction.

In the review I did of The Thrill Of It (No Regrets #1),  I had said that she sticks to the stereotypical model NA books use:

“Beginning that outlines all the problems – check

They meet but there is something keeping them apart – check

The obstacles pile up on both of them and draw them apart – check

They freak out at each other and then realize that they are better together than apart – check

Everything is happy and you just want it to end here – check

But you know it doesn’t because there’s a little less than 100 pages left so something dramatic is about to happen where someone freaks out for no reason… and there it is… – check”

Well, I am completely retracting that statement right now in concerns for this book. Once again, Lauren Blakely provides a breathtaking story that pushes past the cliche and gives us a fresh and inspired story about addiction.

In the last book, addiction is something Trey and Harley fight every day, and try hard to overcome. They are controlled by their addictions, and being together keeps them strong, but also tempts them to go back to their old lifestyles. They both have trouble with striving for the future and living in a healthy pleasant.

Now, if you haven’t read the first book, I don’t suggest you continue reading this review because it might have some spoilers as to what happens at the end of the first book. Instead, go read the review for the first book HERE.

Near the end of The Thrill of It, Trey and Harley have taken great steps and are well on the way to overcoming their addiction. They are strong. Their life is falling into place.

Until Harley tells Trey something that might send them both back to being addicted.

Oh My God. I feel like there should be a warning on the cover: Not for the weak-hearted. Because I promise you, the week of the release of this book, half of Lauren Blakely’s audience will have suffered from a heart attack, high blood pressure, and a nervous breakdown. I don’t know how many times I thought ‘WHY ARE YOU DOING THIS’ and hoping and praying that I did NOT just read what I read. It was gripping from page 1. There is no good time to stop reading, because just as one problem seems to be on the way to being solved, another one just as dramatic pops up. It’s a never-ending cycle that holds you till the very last word. Literally. Because you don’t think that much can happen within the last 20 pages, eh? You. Are. So. Wrong. So, basically what I’m saying is, if you are looking for a bookmark – don’t. You won’t need it. Get comfy, have food nearby, and don’t drink many fluids because those bathroom breaks are agony. I drove myself crazy wondering what happens next during those 5 minutes.

I feel like the first book focused on how hard it is to overcome addiction, with the constant pull of it always there. This book deals with staying strong, not letting the present rule you, and beginning to live your life with no regrets. This is the stage where Trey and Harley are tested. They continue to go to SLAA (Sex and Love Addicts Anonymous), but this book is no longer about their minds going “hey, junky, I need a fix!”. It’s more about the realization that going back to your addiction will not solve your problems. They have both changed, and the growth in these characters is evident. We see them struggling to deal with the problems of the present. However, when they think about returning to their addictions, I am very proud to say that they begin to understand that they are not those people any more. That lifestyle doesn’t suit them anymore because they’ve changed too much. Going back would be just as hard as going forward.

And okay, I know some of you are looking for this so here it is:

The romance. Wow. It’s a steamy, mind blowing, hand-on-the-heart-and-swoon type of romance that makes your toes curl and insides warm. They have such a sweet and honest love, and look at each other  and treat each other the way that lovers should. They adore each other, and even though they both have faults (and do they ever), they are open about them. They accept each others faults and help each other be stronger. They are no longer tempting each other, they are keeping each other on the right path.

There is one love expert that I love to think of whenever I’m reading: Ira Reiss. He named the stages of love each person takes until they have found ‘the one’. The soul mate. The one they were meant to be with. He called this the Wheel Theory of Love:

Rapport: Firstly, you find a mutual connection.

Revelation: Realizing that you love this person romantically.

Dependance: Becoming dependent on each other, where everything you do is connected. (So, with an example of breakfast, he always makes the coffee because she doesn’t know how, and she always makes pancakes because his always catch on fire. Just an example, this doesn’t happen in the book!)

Personality Need Fulfillment: Basically that part of love where you realize you’re soul mates, that you’re best when you’re together. You keep each other strong and are just meant to be together.

So I don’t usually put this into my reviews, because who wants a lesson in theories, right? But I feel like these two books together filled the requirements of the Wheel Theory of Love. And I don’t usually think that, because I don’t usually feel this closely connected with the characters of NA fiction. Typically, NA leaves you at the Dependancy stage. This book took you all the way to Personality Need Fulfillment. You really come to understand the strength of the love between these two characters, because this is the type of love that’s honest, raw, ugly, and beautiful.

The Ugly Beautiful.

You see them progress through these stages from the first book to the last page of the second book. And it’s just amazing.

And the ending of the book – don’t even get me started. If I start, I’ll never stop. I went through more tissues than I should have. I was just a terrible mess and I really can’t talk about it.

So, overall, I give this book 5 stars. It was AMAZING. Memorable, stayed true to its message without the flitzy romance taking over. Oh! And no flitzy romance, either. This romance was epic.

So go out and buy a copy right this minute! I mean it, it’s magical and wonderful and gripping and hard and maddening. I am very honored to have been given an ARC copy to review. It was just too amazing. Not enough praise for it in this world.

This book is published on Feb 10, 2014!

9 Responses to “Every Second With You (No Regrets #2) ARC Review!”

  1. Diana Doan February 7, 2014 at 3:45 pm #

    I love Lauren Blakely. Can’t wait to read Every Second With You!!

  2. elena k February 9, 2014 at 3:12 am #

    I love this series!

  3. QuenKne February 13, 2014 at 3:55 am #

    Discovering new books is like Christmas morning all over again!! I can’t wait to read this series and I have already added them to the top of my TBR.

  4. QuenKne February 13, 2014 at 3:57 am #

    Discovering new books is like Christmas morning all over again!! I can’t wait to read this series and I have already added them to the top of my TBR. Happy Valentine’s Day!! ❤

    • The Novel List February 13, 2014 at 9:51 am #

      It is an amazing series. You’ll enjoy it! Happy v-day!

  5. Dianne Galang February 16, 2014 at 3:24 am #

    gonna read this series 🙂

  6. The Novel List February 16, 2014 at 4:52 pm #

    Do it, this series rocks! :p I totally recommend it if you’re searching for some addictive reading material!

    • Dianne Galang February 16, 2014 at 6:15 pm #

      I’m reading the Thrill of It! 🙂

      • The Novel List February 16, 2014 at 9:15 pm #

        I’m sure you’ll love it! It’s addictive from page 1.

Tell me what you thought!

