Wallbanger (Cocktail #1) Review!

15 Dec

The first night after Caroline moves into her fantastic new San Francisco apartment, she realizes she’s gaining an intimate knowledge of her new neighbor’s nocturnal adventures. Thanks to paper-thin walls and the guy’s athletic prowess, she can hear not just his bed banging against the wall but the ecstatic response of what seems (as loud night after loud night goes by) like an endless parade of women. And since Caroline is currently on a self-imposed dating hiatus, and her neighbor is clearly lethally attractive to women, she finds her fantasies keep her awake even longer than the noise. So when the wallbanging threatens to literally bounce her out of bed, Caroline, clad in sexual frustration and a pink baby-doll nightie, confronts Simon Parker, her heard-but-never-seen neighbor. The tension between them is as thick as the walls are thin, and the results just as mixed. Suddenly, Caroline is finding she may have discovered a whole new definition of neighborly…

**Not suitable for readers under 18 years**

Well, can I just say, I LOVE Simon? Hello hot, self-assured, and witty. You can bang on my walls any time. *ahem*

Alright, so there were things I liked about this book (correction, LOVED about this book) and didn’t like all so much. I prefer to end on a positive note, so I’ll start off with talking about the things that bothered me first.

1) The constant referral to the ‘O’. The O being her orgasm, which has sadly been scared away due to a terrible one night stand Caroline shouldn’t have had in the first place. It was funny in the beginning of the book, when Simon kept banging on her wall during his nightly escapades, and she suffered through not only the frustration of not getting enough sleep, but also her annoyance that everyone but her seemed to get some sort of release. However, by the point at the end of the book where it became some sort of annoying, obnoxious, tangible human being through it’s waving and dancing and running away, it felt ridiculous. Not only did it lose it’s comedic effect, it had completely downgraded Caroline’s somewhat stable-minded character to one that needs psychiatric help. I understand that this may be used to convey desperation, but at what point does having long conversations with/about your orgasm in your head become… creepy?

2) Speaking of the missing O, let’s not forget her friends, Lower Caroline, Wang, Backbone, Nerves, Heart, and Brain. Don’t even try to understand what I mean by this. Caroline gains multiple friends that speak to her in her head from the middle of the book to the end. Again, their sudden appearance was funny the first time. Not so much the rest of the times.

3) The fact that for a small portion of the book, Caroline acted like an immature child. The change was subtle, but it was there. This went away, but it was weird during the time that it was happening. It wasn’t even intentional or anything to do with the plot/character development. She was fine one moment, and then it was as if a completely different person began writing the novel and made Caroline out to be like a small toddler, and then the author made a reappearance.

4) I don’t really understand the issue with the hot tub/drama in Tahoe. I mean, sure the author tries to explain it twice throughout the book (three times?), but she doesn’t, really. She explains around the issue, and we never really find out what his issue was. We can infer that he was scared. But then the little monologues from him in the car on the ride back imply that not even he knew what the issue was. So… it was there just to create drama and build up the sexual tension. And you all know how I feel about unnecessary drama.

On a lighter note, there were many more things that I did love about this book:

1) The humor. Simon and Caroline together in a room bantering and bickering just made me smile the biggest smile ever! It was wicked and sexy and goofy and sarcastic and hilarious. All the makings of a good romantic comedy!

2) Simon. *swoon* New book boyfriend. For sure. He was just so cocky and boastful, but sweet and endearing and shy and romantic and vulnerable. Not at all what you’d expect from this wallbanger upon meeting him. Very nice character development. Who knew? Ogres are like onions. They have layers.

3) Clive, Caroline’s kitty. He’s clearly the star of the book. I don’t know why Purina didn’t go for it. 😉

4) Simon. Oh… did I already say that?

5) The Romance. Swoonworthy, soft, warm, light, fun, tense in all the right places, comfortable. Speaking of, the sexual tension ran on forever! I thought I’d burst. The chemistry between Simon and Caroline was sizzling and intense. You could feel it from the first moment she saw his elbow from her peephole. Which leads me to:

6) The ridiculousness. This book was ridiculously fun. So many situations, so little time to go through them all and pick my favorite. Although, I have to say, Clive climbing the wall trying to get to Purina had to be the best part.

I LOVED how similar and different this couple was. I also loved how throughout the book, they built this comfortable place with each other where they could both be who they wanted to be, no holds barred, and just knew each other inside and out by the end: the good and the ugly and the beautiful. I loved Caroline’s obsession with baking/cooking and Simon’s obsession with eating her food. And it was nice that the author created something sentimental from the beginning about how cooking made Simon feel cared for, as he had not gotten a baked treat made specifically for him in a very long time.

This was a typical, light-hearted fast read NA romance comedy. That about sums it up. It was cliched, with it’s own unique spin, and just something nice to read when you don’t want to be thinking about life. It is there to put you in a nice state of content happiness for a little while. I really enjoyed the goofy world this book put me into.

I would give this book a 3.5 star rating. It was not memorable, but it was good. It had it’s flaws and good parts, but overall it wasn’t something I’d complain about extensively. I hear that in June 2014, the second book of this series will come out, featuring Caroline and Simon. However, I have not decided whether I would like to keep reading, as this book did end on a nice note and the second book might ruin  it. I guess I’ll decide whether to read it or not when the time comes. If I want me some more Simon, I might go for it. Yum. And I did grow attached to the kitty…

Audios!

Tell me what you thought!

