Trust In Me (Wait for You #1.5) Review

23 Nov

Trust in Me

Cameron Hamilton is used to getting what he wants, especially when it comes to women. But when Avery Morgansten comes crashing into his life – literally – he finally meets the one person who can resist his soulful baby blues. But Cam’s not ready to give up. He can’t get the feisty and intriguing girl out of his head.

Avery has secrets, secrets that keep her from admitting the feelings Cam knows she has for him. Will persistence (and some delicious homemade cookies) help him break down her barriers and gain her trust? Or will he be shut out of Avery’s life, losing his first real shot at the kind of love that lasts forever?

What can I say about this book?

I love it.

I REALLY love it.

I love Cam and want his cookies-  I mean, what? No. I didn’t just say that. Pshhtt get your hearing checked.

Kay, seriously though, this is a really cute novella. We saw what went on with Avery and Cam through Avery’s POV, but now we’re seeing it through Cam’s. And the fact that we get to see a lot of Cam and what he thinks just made it so much better!

The one thing I feel I made a mistake on is rereading Wait for You and then reading Trust in Me a week later, when it was released. Because this is a novella, it wasn’t really all too descriptive and intense like Wait for You was. We all basically know what happens and what both of them have gone through. The point of this book was just to let us get a more intimate glimpse at what Cam is like. Because I reread Wait for You, it felt kind of repetitive and as if the book was mostly copy-and-pasted. So I waited a little while and reread Trust in Me again so I could give an honest review (hence, this review is coming a few weeks after it was released in ebook format). I think that this book is supposed to be an alternative Wait for You, not to be read back-to-back. If it’s been a while and you want a reread, you could alternate between getting to see Cam’s POV or Avery’s. If you want to read both right off, I aint stopping you because there really were a few new scenes and the new perspective was unique from Wait for You. But really, you don’t have to reread the first book in order to understand this one.

“You’ve been checking me out, haven’t you? In between your flaming insults? I feel like man candy.”

The top thing that shocked me was Cam’s personality itself. I mean, we all knew he was a player, but through Avery’s POV we see this sweet, romantic, thoughtful, patient guy. In Trust in Me we realize his  mind is always in the gutter(ALWAYS), he’s a lot more of a player than we’ve been  given the impression of, and he REALLY, REALLY wants Avery. But he’s still very adorable and romantic and thoughtful. It’s just… now that we see all his dirty thoughts and platonic moves, we realize that he’s got a whole different agenda that he hides very well. Caution: Cam’s virtues in the first book are more non-existent than they appear. But that’s what we wanted, right? 😉

“I want you, Cam.”
“You have me. You so fucking have me.”

Another thing I realized while reading this book was that Avery is awkward. I mean, we knew that, but we didn’t realize just how awkward because her train of thought was there to explain her behavior, and what she’s said. Because it isn’t there anymore, we see just how awkward she is through Cam (and just how cute). It was really nice to see how a different perspective can completely change how a person is perceived.

“I’m confident enough in my masculinity and sexuality that I can say that Ryan Gosling is just dreamy in this movie.”

I said before that there were a few new scenes. So. Worth. It. I mean, they’re just so… hot! You’ve got to read it yourself, I don’t want to spoil it. Every time there was a new scene, it felt like I popped a sweet and spicy candy on my tongue (maybe not the best simile, if you aren’t into that stuff). As for the old scenes, it felt like the entire room just shifted and we saw a replay of the exact same scene from a different angle. Do you remember reading Wait for You and asking ‘Who are those girls following Cam? What is he doing with his friends at the pool table at the Halloween party? How did he take care of Avery when she fell sick? How long was he there? What was he thinking? What was he thinking when he asked her out the first time? The fifth time? The umpteenth time?’  Well, guess what? You get to find out!

As for Cam’s friends, we see a lot more of them, too. I mean, my favorite of his friends is still Señor Fucktard – I mean, Olly – and I was really happy to see a lot more of this goof.

I also felt like Jennifer L. Armentrout used this book to set up her next book in the series, Be With Me (Wait for You #2). Here we are kind of starting to see a transition from Cam and Avery to Cam’s little sister Teresa and his best friend Jase. But not to worry, most of the book is all Cam. The Teresa-Jase thing is there, too, as a bit of a hint to get the fans excited (got me excited!).

Overall, a very good novella and rendition in Cam’s POV. I look forward to reading her next book in the series, as well! And also, I just preordered Trust in Me in paperback! Whoo!

5 stars, as you’ve all expected.

One Response to “Trust In Me (Wait for You #1.5) Review”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Psst, Here’s Some Gossip: Exciting Be With Me News!!! | The Novel List - December 19, 2013

    […] Prank-tastic Blog Tour            Wait for You Review           Trust in Me Review […]

Tell me what you thought!

