Wait for You Review

13 Aug

Wait for You (Wait for You #1)

Nineteen-year-old Avery Morgansten wants to get as far away from her old life as she can. As far away from the people she knows, from the harassment, from the memories of what happened at that Halloween party five years ago – an event that forever changed her life. All she has to do is make sure the bracelet on her left wrist stays in place, not draw any attention to herself, and maybe -please God- make a few friends, because surely that would be a nice change of pace. The one thing she didn’t need and never planned on was capturing the attention of the one guy who could shatter the precarious future she’s building for herself. Cameron Hamilton makes her want things she believed were irrevocably stolen from her. She knows she needs to stay away from him, but Cam is freaking everywhere. Soon, it starts to get harder and harder to shut him out. But when Avery starts receiving threatening emails and phone calls, forcing her to face a past she wants silenced, she has no other choice but to acknowledge that someone is refusing to allow her to let go of that night when everything changed. When the devastating truth comes out, will she resurface this time with one less scar? And can Cam be there to help her, or will he be dragged down with her?

**This book is YA/NA and may be inappropriate for some readers due to mature subject and sexual situations.

Oh. My. God. This has to be one of the best books I have read in a very long time. I don’t remember the last time I’ve read something this good. Seriously.

First of all, the writing style. I loved J. Lynn’s tone in this book. I have read her other series, Lux (the first two books) a while ago, and so when I saw that she had written this book, I wasn’t that excited. Lux is an amazing series, but to me I felt that the author wasn’t able to write romance based on the judgement I made off of those books. Boooyy was I wrong. She can write the sweetest, steamiest, truest romance I’ve read in a long time.

Confession time. I have sort of been avoiding this book. But I was bored one day and found myself picking it up.

I was hooked. It was the best decision, book wise, I have made in a long time.

If you follow my tweets, you’d know how much I loved this book. As soon as I started reading, I couldn’t stop. The protagonist was immediately likeable, the tone was friendly, the hook got me hooked. Basically, the first page was gold. And the second. And the third. Etc. I stayed up until 4:00 reading this book before I passed out, and then I finished it off the next day.

What I absolutely reveled at was that it was so relate-able. A lot of the time I watch movies or read books, I get the impression that the people in the books act much older than they should. The references are weird and old-school, or the person is a lot more mature-sounding.

This book hit the mark. I was absolutely thrilled! It talked about all the shops I’d shop at, made all the right references, the characters acted just like they should, and I didn’t feel like I was reading a bunch of angsty “teenage” BS. Being about the same age as the characters of these books, I feel that it’s important to be able to connect to them. And I did. I absolutely did.

These characters are amazing! They aren’t too serious, they act like big children, and they have some very creative ways of stringing their words together. Everything about them relates to the people in my age group and that alone brings me closer to the book.

The protagonist is immediately likeable. She isn’t stupid and she doesn’t do stupid things. She doesn’t complain excessively, or make horrible, dramatic choices, and she reacts like a real person should react. There’s no stereotypical teenage drama in her life (even though there were so many doors that could have opened into that direction in the book). Let me tell you why that’s important: it’s because with stereotypes, I’m able to nitpick exactly what will happen next. That, of course, takes the surprise out of the story and allows me to put the book down. If I can guess what happens next, why would I be excited to read it? But I was so surprised when things were completely from what I expected. It threw me for a loop and that made me even more curious. I couldn’t put the book down, couldn’t stop reading. For once in a very long time, I couldn’t guess what would happen next. I was just obsessed. There was no face-palm reaction on my part as I went through the story (which is a miracle in on itself). The protagonist was so real and amazing and wonderful!

And the story is just so beautiful, too. Through Avery, the story came to life and I felt everything that I should in a good book – happiness, sadness, remorse, anger, shock, excitement, giddiness. And the fact that Armentrout stays true to the characters she’s created is just the best part. (Obviously, I’m a big fan of books that have good character development. I always talk about character in my reviews, because I feel like it’s one of the most fundamental aspects of creating a good book). There were some situations where the character could have completely transformed into someone else, but that didn’t happen (thank the gods!) and I feel like Armentrout deserves a big pat on the back for that. It’s so, so hard to write an entire book that stays true to itself throughout, and I’ve had issues with books, even the ones that I loved, that couldn’t pull this off.

Her friends were also remarkably normal. I LOVE that. They were funny and charming and I had fun reading about them. I almost felt like they were my friends by the end of the book, because they reminded me of people I know.

And the love interest. Don’t even get me started again. I’ve mentioned on this blog already how much in love I am with Cam. If you haven’t seen it yet, you can go HERE and read about why I think he was the perfect addition to this book.

Over all, I love the fact that the author was able to play off this world so well. I was also a little shocked that she would discuss some of the topics that she did. Obviously, it is a part of every teen/new adult’s life to go through these stages that the author discussed, but there was just no holding back on her part. It was delightfully awkward. Awkward enough to make it real. The fumbling and nervousness and laughing – I just thought that it was a breath of fresh air.

I mean, most of the time when I read books or watch movies, the sex scenes in them are perfect. Like in The Notebook. The clothes just magically slide away and everything transitions smoothly. But that’s just not the case in real life. There’s going to be awkwardness and issues, especially with how young this couple is. The author does a wonderful job at creating something so beautiful out of something that could easily have become something crude and unbelievable.

I did find a few issues with the edits, but they weren’t a big deal at all. The entire book was amazing and light hearted, and I really can’t complain about a misspelled word or an odd phrase, even if I am a Grammar Natzi. In this case, it’s completely forgivable and forgettable. I almost forgot to mention it.

Because Armentrout was able to pull this off, she deserves a whooping 5 stars. This is easily one of my favorite books (probably second after The Darkest Powers series, but it’s still fresh in my mind so maybe that will change). I not only recommend you read it, I recommend you buy your own copy. It’s completely worth it’s money, and I am SO glad I bought a soft cover instead of just having it on my kobo. My kobo is great for books I want to read leisurely, but the serious stuff (my favorite books) has to be experienced by actually flipping pages and smelling that book smell. This book deserves that. So now all I have to do is wait for the book to come to me!

I’m also excited to announce that Wait for You 1.5, Trust in Me, will be out October 22nd, 2013. It is basically Wait for You  in Cam’s POV, including a lot of new scenes and a closer look at Cam’s life. Oh. My. God. I almost died when I found it, I was THAT excited.

So, basically, go out and buy it. Go. Now. Support this piece of amazing literature. Off with you!

4 Responses to “Wait for You Review”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Trust In Me Teaser Pics! | The Novel List - August 15, 2013

    […] love with Wait for You by J. Lynn & found out that Trust in Me is coming out  soon.  I have a review and a Book Boyfriend post on here (follow the links I just […]

  2. “I’m beginning to think cookies is a code word for something else.” Wait For You, by J. Lynn (Jennifer L. Armentrout) | Curious Kindle Reader - August 22, 2013

    […] Wait for You Review (thenovellist1.wordpress.com) […]

  3. Psst, Here’s Some Gossip: Exciting Be With Me News!!! | The Novel List - December 19, 2013

    […] Blog Tour            Wait for You Review           Trust in Me […]

  4. Psst, Here’s Some Gossip: More Exciting Be With Me News!!! | The Novel List - January 13, 2014

    […] Psst Here’s Some Exciting…           Prank-tastic Blog Tour            Wait for You Review […]

Tell me what you thought!

