Bad Rep Review

11 Aug

Bad Rep
16102880Maysie Ardin has messed up. Big time. Her summer of shopping has left her in debt, and owing money to her parents. Needing cash, and quick, she is forced to take a second job at a local bar to dig herself out of her deep financial pit. What she didn’t plan on was Jordan Levitt – the hot, pierced and tattooed, drum-playing bartender – who also happens to be very interested in her. And the feelings are totally mutual. Except that Jordan has a girlfriend who can turn Maysie’s reputation upside down with a snap of her perfect fingers. But attraction is a hard thing to ignore and soon Jordan and Maysie find themselves in the middle of a gossip induced firestorm. Will Maysie let the opinions of others dictate her life and her heart?

**Not appropriate for anyone under 18. Mature content and sexual situations.

Okay. I LOVED this book.

Now. I have to figure out how to start this because there are so many things I want to say and not enough room to say it. So I will give you a glimpse of the texts I was sending to my friend while reading it to start us off:

First text: Aww Jordan is so romantic and cute! And hot. *fans self* Everything he says is gold dripping in honey. So romantic it’s almost unreal. I love it.

Second Text: I don’t know if I like this protagonist. She thinks some stupid stuff but then she knows she’s thinking stupid stuff and tries to brush it off. I’m just glad she’s not one of those bratty, whiney girls who start crying a river and not even realizing how stupid they’re acting.

Third text: Omg she’s one of those bratty, whiney girls who start crying a river and not even realizing how stupid they’re acting! The most amazing boyfriend ever is standing up for her, chasing her, taking her out on romantic dates, rooting for her in front of her father, giving up his friendships because she means more to him, and because she’s had a bad day she’s basically telling him to get lost!? This. Book. Sucks.

Fourth text: ‘I’m willing to fight to the death for you but I can only do that if you’re willing to fight with me’ *swoon* I love this book.

Fifth text: I wanna stab Maysie with a pencil crayon. Stop being a depressed brat, get your butt in gear and go chase after him!

Sixth text: *cue Silver Linings Playbook book scene here* (Which you can find by clicking HERE)

Put me out of my misery! Please. This is not good for my heart. Why do I read these things? They only make me want to rip my hair out. I know what’s coming. I know it’ll boil my blood. But I do it anyways. I mean, you’re reading the book that’s 320 pages long. You’re thinking: alright, so it’s about 120 pages in and they’re together but there’s, like, 200 pages left. Something stupid will happen. Something stupid always happens.

Something stupid happened.

Because, children, we can’t have a grown-up protagonist. That’s no fun. She has to learn something first. Even if that something is perfectly clear to begin with.

Okay. I’m being unfair. If I had been in the situation Maysie was put in, I’m not sure how I would have handled it. I’d like to think I wouldn’t apologize to the snotty, back-stabbing sorority sisters for things that were never in my control. I’d like to think I’d dig my fingernails into the girlfriend’s face and try to rip enough skin off to keep her from attacking me like freaking cat-woman on drugs. I’d hope I’d be able to stick up for myself a lot more than Maysie had. But hey, whatever.

And the thing is, even though I’m complaining about Maysie, I did sort of like her. She may act stupid and do stupid things (especially during the climax scene of the book), but she had a good head on her shoulders. She’s fun and quirky, but also responsible. She’s able to live it up, but has an inner book-worm brewing deep down as well.

And she gets to date Jordan F-ing Levitt. *swoon* He’s the most romantic, charming, exciting, magnetic, bad-boy personality I’ve read about in a long time. “Holy bad boy Batman!” is right. The only thing about him that bugged me was that he was too perfect of a boyfriend, so he almost didn’t seem real. Almost. And even though I wasn’t completely in love with the way the author described him in the book, that all changed and I finally saw the charm in the tattoos and piercings and shaved head.

Also, he’s the ultimate alpha male. He holds her possessively, kisses her possessively (and then some), and then possessively beats up any guy that even looks at her within an inch of his life. Because she’s his. And only his. And nothing will get in the way of what’s his.

“It matters to me, Mays. It matters a lot. I don’t like seeing some other guy touching you. Not when it should be me touching you”

Maysie doesn’t just stand by, though, which makes me ultimately like her. She calls him out on his jealousy every time he acts stupid and does stupid stuff. And he calls her out when she does stupid stuff (although I wish he’d call her out on it a little more.) She’s not the damsel in distress. She solves her own problems and she makes it clear to Jordan that she doesn’t need a knight in shining armor – just a bad boy to snuggle with.

And let’s face it. We all know what’s coming. Ultimately, we all know that as hard as they both try, you can’t build a relationship from jealousy and lies. So they have to fix it. But a bunch of stupid stuff has to happen first. (I realize I’ve used stupid more times than I can count. You haven’t read the book, so don’t judge my word choices. Just trust that a lot of stupid stuff happens.) And we, as the readers, groan and moan about how awful it all is when, really, we’re soaking up every word wondering how things will be fixed. Because they have to be fixed – right? Right?

Hmm…

Well, at least the townie ex-boyfriend has some deep insight to bestow upon us:

“Then you need to fight for him. Don’t give up on something like that. It doesn’t come along very often. And when you find it, you hold on tight. You lock that shit down with an iron fist and you never, ever let go. Even when life tries to take it from you, you smack life upside its head like a little bitch and you keep on fighting for it.”

I laughed too. All the secondary characters that are on the good side (not the evil side. The evil side sucks) had some kind of charm that just made you love them. Amazing character layering going on in this book.

Okay. So the beginning was slightly boring (I know, I’m doing this backwards. But it makes sense in my head so just go with it), so I had a hard time getting into it. But it was only the first 20 pages that were dull. After that I couldn’t put it down (although, it was ripped from my hands by people demanding I pay attention to them several times, which is why it took me so long to read). As the book progressed, and the action and drama sped up, it was like I was being pulled deeper and deeper into the book and it was impossible to rip myself away. The last 100 pages I read without taking a breath, and I basically snapped at anyone who tried to tell me to put my book down. Because they don’t understand – it’s a matter of life and death! No, really. I’d have died of a heart attack if I didn’t know what happened. It was just that exciting.

I would give this book 4 stars. It’s a very good book, and it’s totally worth reading. It’s not a relaxing book to read, though. If you’re prone to heart-attacks – STAY AWAY!

Tell me what you thought!

