The Boy Who Sneaks In My Bedroom Window Review

4 Aug

The Boy Who Sneaks In My Bedroom Window

The Boy Who Sneaks in My Bedroom Window

Click the cover to see this book on goodreads!

Amber Walker and her older brother Jake have an abusive father. One night her brother’s best friend, Liam, sees her crying and climbs through her bedroom window to comfort her. That one action sparks a love/hate relationship that spans over the next eight years. Liam grows up to be a confident, flirty player who has never had a girlfriend before. Amber is still emotionally scarred from the abuse she suffered at the hands of her father. Together they make an unlikely pair, even though it’s clear that they’re meant to be.

I read this book about a month ago, and I’ve finally decided to write a review. The reason I had to leave this book for a little while was this: I just was not sure how to rate it, or what I thought.

Let’s be clear right off: I have decided that I love the book and that it is one of my favorites. But as far as the quality of the writing goes, I am not a fan. The writing was inconsistent both in plot and character, some situations are overly cheesy or cringe-worthy. Also, the author’s attempts at writing teenager-y behavior are a far cry from reality.

I felt like Liam had some type of multiple-personality disorder in the beginning, and I thought that Amber was overly quick to jump-start their relationship after making a big deal of her scarred past. I also feel like it took Amber an unrealistically long time to realize that Liam’s been in love with her his whole life. As well, some of their teasing and flirting just made me roll my eyes.

Now, if you can ignore those aspects of the book, here is what you’re in for:

1) The sweetest romance you’ve ever laid eyes on.

2) The sweetest, most romantic boyfriend to ever live.

3) Lots of teenage tomfoolery.

4) Drama, jealous girlfriends, awesome skating dates.

I’m in love with Liam. It’s like Kristy Moseley took a magical wand and molded the perfect boyfriend. He was hot, sweet, thoughtful, perfect…

I’m sorry. My mind just went into a haze. I should focus.

What made me love him most is that he didn’t run away from much of anything. Tough relationship? Worth it. Tough crowd? Deal with it. Tough circumstances? They’ll end. Although he has a past of being a bad-boy player, along with Amber’s brother, that part of him completely straightens up once he gets the girl. He was protective of her and just knew what she needed when even she didn’t. After always being there for her, it’s like he knew her inside out and outside in, and loved every aspect of her – even her broken parts. *Cue swoon here* It is impossible not to fall in love with Liam. If you have even an ounce of a romantic-girl-waiting-for-her-knight inside you, past or present, you’ll fall deep and never be able to come back up. He’s the guy that’ll stamp on a spider with a serious face and hold you in his arms until you’re sure the thing is dead. He’s the guy that can’t sleep without the love of his life wrapped tightly in his arms. He’s the guy that makes you breakfast before you even wake up, and then pretends to eat it just to annoy the heck out of you. He’s the guy who’d climb up through your window every night for eight years to make your bad dreams go away, holding you and whispering you’re beautiful, even when you look like that thing from the blue lagoon.

And then there’s Amber. Her, I can’t say I hated or loved. There’s a reason for that. If you think Liam’s got some kind of two-way personality, wait till you get a load of her. At least Liam was only acting like he had an alter-ego. At first she’s just some scarred, broken, abused girl with bad dreams. Sweet and sad. Then she grows up and she’s never had a boyfriend and she’s uncomfortable with the aspect of it. Again, sweet and sad. She realizes she’s in love with Liam and all of a sudden she’s some kind of sex vixen out to get her prey. Not so sweet or sad… a little… scarring, maybe? Yeah. I mean… how realistic is it that she’s making a big deal out of being uncomfortable with relationships, but at the same time she’s practically raping Liam in the cafeteria?

Besides that, and a few other small things, it could be perfect.

This is the type of romance you read when you want something perfect that fits into the box all nice and neat, with moments that you expect to happen and situations that work out too conveniently. It’s a light summer read for those who just want to sprawl on the beach and make their brain turn off into a fog of happy, toe-curling, heart-beats-fast romance.  I’d say that if the author ever considered rewriting the book, and if she worked on some of these things I mentioned above, it could be great. Not just good, like it is now.

Because it has potential, it deserves 3.5 stars. It’s not for everyone. It’s for the people who have a little patience and are able to look past all the bad and realize that there is also a lot of good. If you’re up for it, go ahead and read it. I ended up loving it despite all it’s imperfections. And even though I’m aware that some people would disagree with this review, I think the book is worth it’s chance.

Tell me what you thought!

