Significance Review

3 Aug

Significance (Significance #1)

Significance (Significance, #1)Maggie is a seventeen year old girl who’s had a bad year. She was a genius, but her mother’s sudden departure and her dad’s spiral into depression has left her with too much responsibility. Now she’s graduating, but barely. Everything has turned upside down and she’s lost her way. Until the night she saves Caleb from being run over by a truck. The instant they touch, her world falls out from under her and she feels like she’s finally found everything her soul’s been needing her entire life. Her soulmate. But with that comes the knowledge of a whole new world unknown to humans, and now Maggie is right in the middle of it.

So I have a lot to say about this book, so you might want to get comfortable.

I was REALLY excited for this book. The cover is absolutely gorgeous and very intimate, and it promised to be the greatest romance of the ages.

Now, here’s where it fell short:

Firstly, Shelly Crane seemed to have been in a rush to release this book. I feel that it could have gone through a few more drafts and rewrites before it was released to the public. Personally, I am as much of a writer as I am a blogger, and when I write I go through maybe four drafts and three rewrites. Usually, the final product is completely different from where I began. Now, although I believe the author should be blamed for just rushing into publishing the novel, I think that the editor needs a serious smack, too. I read through it and found inconsistencies, spelling errors, grammar errors, and it didn’t flow too smoothly for my taste. Everything seemed forced and rushed. But the editor gave the go-ahead?

For example, in the beginning when Maggie imprints with Caleb, Caleb tells her that she will find out what it all means tomorrow. Alright. But then a few paragraphs later, he’s explaining a whole onslaught of things about soulmates and imprinting and powers that completely overwhelmed me, and contradicted what he said to her before. But guess what? Maggie, the amazing Maggie, seemed to take everything in stride. It’s like she fell down the rabbit hole and didn’t even realize it until she was in Wonderland, and then she shrugged and just went  with it. There was no questioning it, no wondering if she was going out of her mind, no nothing. It was just BOOM I’m in and I’m dealing great. And oh, Caleb is so proud of me for it.

That’s another thing that bugged me. It seemed like Maggie was completely enamored with Caleb (which is understandable), but to a point where she began to lose herself to him. She became dependent of him. But not in a romantic I’ll-never-be-as-happy-with-anyone-as-I-am-with-you type of way. It had more of a if-I-don’t-have-him-telling-me-I’m-beautiful-and-amazing-I’ll-fall-off-the-deep-end vibe going on. Although, I admit, she did stake her independence and became a little less maniac-dependent of him as the book progressed. But still, what kind of a message was that sending? What message was the book, itself, trying to send?

Now, their weird beginning to the romance aside, let’s talk about the plot. Everything that happened seemed a little too convenient, or too overdone. There was never a balance. First of all, she’s supposed to spend all her time with Caleb, which makes it easy because her dad is completely checked out and her mom is in California getting her cougar on. But then to add a twist, the author makes Maggie’s dad come completely out of his year-long depression in a day after seeing Caleb around, and all of a sudden it’s strict daddy trying to be a good father. Completely unrealistic. And the climax of the book – maaan. The battle scenes sucked. Again, everything convenient that could happen did, and their big clan-against-clan scene was more like someone threw a punch, and then they all stopped to look at the two clan leaders who talked about boundaries and the big bad villain crawled away with his tail between his legs. Disappointing.

Some of the plot was overdone and I felt like it would never end, and then there were some parts that just flopped. What happened to the New York thing? What about this and that and on and on and on. And then what’s with Caleb’s cousin Kyle? Like Caleb, Kyle is aware of the whole soulmate thing, but he keeps pushing to be with Maggie, thinking that he has a chance with her. Was this some type of awkward third-wheel Jacob-meets-Bella thing? God. See what you’ve done, Twilight?! Because of you, we readers had to deal with Kyle’s aggressive and disturbing obsessiveness over Maggie. And Bish, Maggie’s brother, is just random. I feel that Shelly Crane just brought him into the plot as a replacement for Maggie’s father’s disapproval. I mean, the dad finally approves of Caleb and you think all is right and then in strolls Bish and goes into overprotective transformers mode. Like this book needs any more drama. Completely unnecessary and, again, too aggressive.

Now, I’ll tell you what I did like. The author played off the romance very well after the initial flop in the beginning. Their love was very intense and some scenes were mouthwatering. Now, I am the type of gal who wants to be seen as a sexual being, but also wants a gentleman with a bit of a naughty wolf in him that knows boundaries (I guess I’m a bit of a girl-next-door). It was perfect.  They were so in tune with each other, and it worked. It backfired a little in the beginning – all the emotions were just too overwhelming and unrealistic. But it’s okay. The more you find out about the characters, the more likeable they become, and the better the romance seems to get. It’s sweet and consuming, and the ending! *fans self* Kinda wish I could get into my boyfriend’s mind like that.

Speaking of ending… It should have been the beginning. Of the second book. Not the ending of the first book. They had their battle scene and it winds down and really, the author could have left it at the family BBQ get-together in the end, or even on the flight to California. Instead, she went on and on and on and then ended in a completely random spot. It was like… when will this end – wait what? It ends here? Yeah. Not the best way to end a book.

So what would I rate this book? 2 stars. If you saw my FAQ & Review Policy Page, you’d know that 2 stars for me means: Not completely terrible but I don’t recommend it. It was bearable. I finished it. It took a long while though. Usually I can get through a book in a day, maybe two. This took me a week. A waste of a week. The only thing that kept me interested was the romance, and just barely.  But, hey, Shelly Crane does know how to make likable characters and steamy romances. I just wish she’d learn the word ‘progress’.  She also chooses great covers for her books. I wish there were more like these out there.

My advice for Shelly Crane is this:

Take time writing your books. Go through drafts and redrafts and then do it again. Rewrite the entire thing. Do it until you’re sick of the story, take a break, and then do it again. Make it perfect. Because even though it’s great and exciting to get a book out, it’s a lot more exciting when you get a book out that you’ve sweated over. It’s about pride in your work. Oh, and also, get a new editor. Because whoever edited the manuscript didn’t pick up on all these things.

And that, my friends, is where I leave off. I will definitely not be reading the second or third installment of this series. But if you’ve read this book and loved it, you can post your review below for readers of the blog to see. Or post the link to the review on your own blog page in the comments below.

Tell me what you thought!

